Resetting an Android phone or tablet can be done using its settings. So if you’re selling your phone, or giving it to a new employee, you can erase all of its data, including apps and settings registered under your Google or Gmail account by resetting it to its default factory settings.
This is almost always the fastest and easiest way to reset an Android – unless you don’t have the phone in hand. If your Android device has been lost or stolen, you can reset it from any computer using your Google account, provided the device is turned on and is accessible to a WiFi or cellular network.
Resetting an Android Remotely
If an Android device has more than one profile, like a business-owned phone shared by more than one employee, you will need to use a Google account that is on the device’s main profile.
Sign in tousing your Google,account. If you have access to more than one device with your account, select the Android you want to reset at the top of the screen.
If your device is lost, you’ll be able to locate it on thewebsite. You’ll notice that if the device is turned on, its approximate location is displayed on the map. The device itself also receives a notification. From the website, you can click Play Sound to make the phone ring for up to five minutes, even if it’s set to be silent or vibrate.
Select Lock if you want to lock the Android using your PIN, password or pattern. Even if the Android’s lock screen hasn’t been enabled, you can set it now. You can also add a message or a phone number to be displayed on the lock screen in case someone finds your device and wants to return it to you.
Select Erase to permanently delete all of the data on the Android. Once the data has been erased, its Find My Device feature will no longer work. Note that in some cases, the data on the SD card may not always be erased.
If you want to use the Android device again, turn it on and sign in with your Google Account. All of your data from the last sync, as well as your apps and settings, will be restored.
Resetting Using Android Settings
If you can unlock your Android device, you can reset it to its factory settings without using a computer. This is also known as formatting the device or a hard reset. Everything on the Android that makes it personally yours, including your data, your files, apps you downloaded and your settings are deleted.
If you recently changed your Google account password, you will have to wait 24 hours before you can reset the device.
Plug in Your Android
Backing up and then resetting and Android can take an hour or more. As well, if you have your Android configured to automatically back up to your Google account, it normally does this when the Android is connected to a power source. To save on cellular data costs, it’s best to back up your Android when you have a good WiFi signal.
Back Up Your Android
To back up your device to your Google account, open Settings. Settings can be found by tapping the All Apps icon at the bottom of the screen and scrolling down. The specific location of the back up option can vary. Tap the Search icon in the upper-right corner of the screen, type “backup,” and then select Backup and Restore. On some phones it can be under Accounts or under Cloud and Accounts. The exact location depends on the phone’s manufacturer and which version of the Android software it has.
Reset Your Android
Tap the Search icon again and type “reset” and then tap the Reset option. Again, the exact location of the reset options can vary. On some Androids this will be under General Management. On other Androids it might be under System, then Advanced. Once you have found the Reset options, tap Factory Data Reset, or Erase all Data (factory reset), depending on your model. Follow the onscreen instructions to complete the reset.
Once the reset is complete, you can sign in to this Android device, or a new one, and use your Google account to restore your data and preferences.